Company Overhaul, Part 1 of 2: Where We’ve Been to Where We Are Now

COpin

Where to start?

How about a short-n-sweet background check:

As you may or may not know, Radiant Rose Creates (the company behind the Radiant Rumble blog) is a digital design company specializing in design for businesses, non-profit organizations, and events. It was established in 2011 as ClarissaRose Design by Clarissa Crocker (the one writing this post!) to begin what would hopefully grow into a full-time freelance graphic design company. At the time, I (Clarissa) was a full-time college student, earning a degree in graphic design, and working part-time.

Fast-forward to October 29, 2014, and boy, is everything different! From my first dollar, to gaining clients and becoming profitable, to more than tripling revenue in one year, RRC has come a long way! Quite a bit has happened over the past three years, but the craziest it’s ever been has been the past three months! A lot changed, some stayed the same, and all in all it’s been a great ride! But, before I get into that, I’ll rewind a bit…

As you may have read on my About The Designer page, I am a creative at heart – always have been. That, coupled with having experience as a customer service representative, a bridal consultant and coming from a family of business owners/entrepreneurs, the conclusion to begin my own adventure came somewhat naturally. Obtaining a degree in graphic design, as well as what I’ll call “self-proclaimed” degrees in other areas of business and marketing due to exposure and experience, I have been able to keep this thing going over the past three crazy years with the help of the Lord, family and friends.

Through word-of-mouth (literally) ClarissaRose Design was born. My first client was my father, and then it escalated from there (he’s the mouth that spread most of the word!). I began with designing only for print – it’s what I wanted to do – and I loved it. As time went on, I realized the importance of and need to include web design, and began integrating that into my services. From there, I realized that I had interest and experience in other areas, so I added email and social media marketing, as well as event design for weddings, family gatherings, and corporate events.

Whew! That is a LOT of stuff, I know! BUT, the reason I provide so much is for a few different reasons:

+ More revenue streams

+ Gets me out of the “box”, and allows for more creativity in different ways

+ Allows for expertise in different areas of design, all which already intertwine and complement

+ Allows for expansion

Don’t get me wrong: I’m not advocating being a “Jack-Of-All-Trades, Master Of None”, nor am I against it (some people do that very well). I’m just telling you what I’ve decided to do, and why, for my own business going forward. For now, I’m using all avenues as a way to see where I can be different, where I can stand out, and who I can create a relationship with in order to accomplish that last goal: expansion. Whether that be just through outsourcing, hiring employees, or both, time will tell!

NOW that all of that is out of the way, let’s bring it back to today; specifically, the last three months. From August up to now, Radiant Rose Creates has gone through one big company overhaul. Beginning with a name change (which we already talked some about) all the way to launching the Radiant Rumble blog, this overhaul has been exasperating and thrilling all at the same time. The long list of accomplishments awaits, so brace yourself!

I hope you enjoyed reading part one of how I’ve gotten to where I am now! That’s IT for today! Part two will be on its way tomorrow!

Like this? Join, share, pin… whatever! Thanks for reading, joining, supporting! Don’t forget to check out our other posts!

P.S. We’d love to hear your comments, send ’em in!

Company Overhaul, Part 1 of 2: Where We’ve Been to Where We Are Now

One thought on “Company Overhaul, Part 1 of 2: Where We’ve Been to Where We Are Now

Leave a Reply

