Our Christmas Meals + Favorite Recipe!

Christmas Meals + Favorite Recipe
Mmm… Christmas!! The time of year where the lights, decorations, and all of the smells creeping from the kitchen are definitely something to look forward to! I love Christmas, especially the decorating part! I always find an excuse to get something new every single year to put up – whether it be an ornament, or something for the wall. I think I probably have enough for a lifetime, but I can’t help it, because I love Christmas time!

I’ve also always loved baking around the holidays, from pies to cookies to candy to cheesecake… whatever new or old recipe I’ve found that I either know tastes good, or I think might. What is it about this time of year that makes us want to make some of the yummiest, yet probably not so healthy, food we can?! Why don’t we make these things throughout the year to help spread it out a bit? I guess that’s why it’s called “The Holidays”! It’s a time to celebrate with good food and family, and when we do that, we go big!

Through the years, from what I remember, our family has been known to meet for Christmas Eve Dinner, Christmas Day Brunch, or an early Christmas Day Lunch/Dinner. At these get-togethers, there’s always a few things that get repeatedly asked for, such as my Mother’s rolls or biscuits, and my Grandmother’s Jell-O Salad. Besides a few repeat-worthy dishes, there is always a different smorgasbord of food!

Of course, you would expect the choices to be a bit different from brunch to lunch or dinner, but even then, I don’t remember having the same thing every year. When asked what we have for Christmas Dinner, I shrug and say, “We don’t really have ‘Christmas food’, it’s just whatever.” And it’s true! Usually one person plans the “main meal” and then everyone else brings side dishes, dessert or drinks. One thing is for sure, though: there are always sooo many choices and not enough stomach!! (Anyone still getting over that Thanksgiving Feast??)

So, since we are always sporadic with our Christmas menu, I did want to share something that everyone always asks for! Whether it’s Thanksgiving or Christmas, this dish constantly gets rave reviews. In memory of my Grandmother this Christmas Season, here is her Jell-O Salad recipe:

Gma’s Jell-O Salad

2 Cups Boiling Water
1 Pkg Cherry Jell-O
1 Pkg Strawberry Jell-O 
1 13oz Can Crushed Pineapple, drained well
1 Pkg Frozen Strawberries
1 Can Whole Cranberry Sauce

Mix Jell-O with boiling water, add remaining ingredients. Pour into bowl or mold of choice and let set in refrigerator.

Merry Beginning of the Christmas Season! (That’s a thing, right?)

P.S. Did you check out our newly opened Mini Shop? Let us know what you think!

Thank you, as always, for reading! Comment, share, follow!

Our Christmas Meals + Favorite Recipe!

Leave a Reply

